In the Shadow of the Cross

Weeping wood, burls of blood, I see an arc of ancestors,

a Jacob’s Ladder from my Jesus’ brow, back into Avram’s

bosom.  This tree without leaves will bear only gory fruit.

Water and wine, and these punctured feet I clutch, oh how

visceral the silver nails stab into Godly flesh, moldy bread.

They will say I was taken up by angels and did not putrify.

But penitent in the desert, I was a corpse, and my seven

devils taught me philosophy, arithmetic, divination, magic.

There is always a Sorceress at the heart of every story, a

prophetess, whether Daughter of Zion or Morgan Le Fay,

and at Bethany in my sister and I’s house, Martha baked,

and I listened to Gospel, and I anointed with myrrh saved

for three years, cost a fraction of the tribulation to come.

And now the angel of my better nature is suspended between

what is and what is not, and I am Eve in his skin cloth, wasted.

I will drink my fill of Him in time, but grow old and cold.

At the foot of the cross is a shadow, it says, be fruitful and

prosper.  But mine is a covenant of wicked delights, found

at epileptic fits and bipolar highs and lows, and only cool

hands of thunderclouds can ease my sorrows, in his Death

and Ressurection, there was a voice of mice within me: oh

Miriam: be bold.  Live like Gabriel’s trumpet is lowing, take

your words as swords and preach in the desert, they will

call you a whore and heretic, but my Qadesh was my goddess

once, and I Michael tell you, better to have tasted the parting

of love and buried your father, brother, and son, then to never

know the shadow of the cross.

Published by

Allie

"We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars."

5 thoughts on “In the Shadow of the Cross”

  1. Allie, this moves me intensely. It feels beautiful, but poignant. It is far too deep for me to say too much. Ivwish I could wrute ALL of my mystical exoeriences, but I doubt anyone would be interested lol. Plus mine are mainly to do with Jesus, crucifixion, flames of fire, burning bushes, shoes (or the lack of thereof lol) resurrection, toweks lol. Plus a few floating organs ha ha. Great poem Allie. Sorry I have been a bit absent!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks. It is going all over the place at the moment. I had visionsnof the beyond once, but now I think it is visions of hell ha ha!

        Like

Leave a comment